After the wild and crazy ride that was ds106, I decided to walk the talk and encourage my students to reflect about their learning somewhere other than Blackboard.  After all, the writing belongs to them, and I can’t see a good reason that they should lose access to it at the end of the semester.  Since this is new to many of my students, I tweeted, asking how to succinctly explain the idea.  Gardner Campbell from Virgina Tech, who coined the term “personal cyberinfrastructure” , replied, and I was encouraged to just put all the theory and thinking out there.  That’s why my students found, embedded in a Blackboard announcement, Campbell’s presentation from OpenEd 2009.  At some level, this was like putting a Pepsi bumper sticker on a Coca-Cola delivery truck, but it seemed the most straightforward way to explain what I was up to.

